Skip to main content

View Diary: Tarot: Shin Fool, Mercury Magus explained (27 comments)

Comment Preferences

  •  Aleph, Mem, Shin... and Earth (0+ / 0-)

    The planetary attributions are, so far as I know, mine alone.
    All are based on the ancient Phoenician alphabet:

    Letters 1, 13, 21: Aleph, Mem, Sin:
    Air, Water/Earth, Fire.

    Letters 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19:
    5 He: 1st mo: exaltation of the Sun
    6 Waw: 2nd mo: exaltation of the Moon
    7 Zayin: 3rd mo: exaltation of North Node
    8 Heth: 4th mo: exaltation of Jupiter
    9 Teth: 5th mo.
    10 Yodh: 6th mo: exaltation of Mercury
    12 Lamedh: 7th mo: exaltation of Saturn
    14 Nun: 8th mo.
    15 Samekh: 9th mo: exaltation of South Node
    16 Ayin: 10th mo: exaltation of Mars
    18 Tsade: 11th mo.
    19 Qoph: 12th mo: exaltation of Venus

    I think the planets appear in the order of their distance from
    the Earth (looking out the window, or over the garden fence):
    Letters 2, 3, 4, 11, 17, 20, 22:

    2 Beth: Moon
    3 Gimmel: Venus
    4 Daleth: Mars
    11 Kaph: Mercury (as always, with Virgo)
    17 Pe: Sun (upon the arrival of Capricorn, like Christmas)
    20 Res: Jupiter
    22 Taw: Saturn

    It is significant that Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius do not
    have exaltations: it has something to do with the Moon.

    The Moon is exalted in Taurus, the Sign of Earth.

Subscribe or Donate to support Daily Kos.

Click here for the mobile view of the site