In the state of Oregon, if you want to be anointed with the prestigious office of notary public, you have to take a three hour training class and pass a test.
For all first-time Oregon Notary applicants, and prior Oregon Notaries renewing after commission expiration:The notary office is only good for 4 years and then you have to renew it. There s a fee and you have to take a test. If you let your commission expire, you have to (horrors) take the three hour training course.
A mandatory 3-hour training course is required along with the application, exam and filing fee.
Now, I have nothing against these notary rules. They were put in place by my much-beloved law school classmate Kate Brown, now Secretary of State for Oregon. Bad notarial practices can cause a lot of damage to the legal system.
But let's compare that to Oregon's legal requirements for purchasing a firearm. Once you pass the FBI records check, what does Oregon require? Butkis, nada, chirp-chirp, nothing!
So, it is indeed far easier to purchase a firearm (or a lot of firearms) than to become a notary in the State of Oregon.
Just thought you'd like to know.